What Then Shall I Write?

I’ve been wondering what I could do with this blog since I really don’t know enough about Christianity, theology or apologetics to teach anybody anything. I’m in total immersion mode, and learning a tremendous amount, but it’s going to be a long road. I’m thinking about getting some formal education, but I’m not sure how to best go about that. I have a four year degree and 20 years of work experience, but it’s all technical computer stuff. I haven’t done anything even remotely humanities related since my few required courses in college.

But one thing I do remember from English writing classes is to write what you know. And I do know the questions that I had to get answered before I came to the point where I am now. So I’m going to try to combine a couple of things here. First, I’m going to talk about the issues I had before I could recommit myself to Christ. I’m going to ask the question, and give the answer that made sense to me, but what’s more, is that I will try to make the answers more complete and based in theologies, reason, and evidence.

In many ways, I think my aptitude for my current career as a technical architect will prove valuable in apologetics. Most of what I do and what I am talented at is taking the theoretical and applying it in a practical way that people can use and understand. And what I’ve learned over time is that the best way to learn the practical application of the theoretical is to actually try and DO IT.

Since I know most of my readers know way more than I do, I invite you all to correct and guide me as I make these chicken scratchings. :)

It’s a little late in the evening to start one off, but I’m planning on starting with the issue of why I can’t open a newspaper without crying for all the horrifying things that are being done to innocent children. Yeah, that’s right. I like to give myself easy assignments. ;-)

Leave a comment

Filed under Apologetics

Leave a Reply

