10 Things I Didn’t Know About Christianity

1.  The Holy Spirit is our friend that comforts and guides us until Jesus returns.  I guess I just thought he hung around for your baptism and then swooped around here and there afterwards.  Yes, I was a shockingly ignorant Christian.

2.  The Greek word for Spirit (Pneuma) is also the word for air, wind and breath.   Since I have found this out, when I think of the Holy Spirit dwelling in me, I think of God's breath keeping me alive rather than my own, which is just a delightful thought.

3. Legalism is relying on your own ability to follow God's laws and rules, and really just can't be done.  It leads to you thinking you can save yourself or earn your salvation.  Only God saves us.  Really!  The only way!  I remember thinking the whole thing was so futile because nobody could be that good.  Okay, I get it now – that *IS* the point.  This has been a real mind bender to me, and I find my mind still trying to find sneaky ways around it and encouraging me to "prove" to God I'm worthy.  

4. New heaven and new earth.  Huh, how 'bout that?  No clue that was even there.

5. People do not turn into angels when they die.  Angels are totally separate and different.  

6. Demons can masquerade as angels of light.  This is not good.  I don't like this at all.

7.  Our heavenly Father longs for us.  He wants us to be with him – like crazy!!  And it really hurts him if we turn away.  Longs for.  Wow.

8.  You can pray for very meta stuff – to learn how to pray, for example.  Or for God to grant you the *desire* to do something he wants you to do, but you don't have any desire for that at all.  

9.  The body of Christ is not just the communion ritual.  It's the whole church – you and your brothers and sisters are all in Christ as a body.  

10. The Gospel really is really, really, REALLY Good News!!

1 Comment

Filed under A-Hah Moments, Funny

One response to “10 Things I Didn’t Know About Christianity

  1. Good stuff, Tracey!

    (1) It’s interesting how many people, when they come to/back-to Christianity, learn some very basic things about it they never knew. Based on the little sample I’ve been exposed to, I expect that most people who reject Christianity don’t fully understand what they’re rejecting.*

    (* I don’t mean they don’t understand the part about us being sinful and needing a savior — that’s really the core. But so many other misconceptions abound… especially that “works” one.)

    (2) “Salvation by works” can be insidious. At times I suspect that some of the more legalistic (sourly so) organizations out there really believe in salvation by works. As I sometimes see it, there are only two to three religions:

    (a) “I am a good person; good enough to please God / the ultimate IS”
    (b) “I am not a good person; I have offended God”
    (c) What I do doesn’t matter

    The first religion is, I think, most “natural” and comes in all kinds of flavors, some which look Protestant, Catholic, New Age, humanist, Orthodox, Islam, Hinduism. The second is, as far as I have searched, is only found in orthdox Christianity, the third shows up in flavors of (some repeats here) humanism, Gnosticism, the New Age, and certain forms of Protestantism (“I’m saved, so I can go do anything I want, no matter how bad…”).

    (3) Some other popular misconceptions I’ve heard are (I’m mentioning in case you or your readers find them interesting or might have shared them at one time):

    (a) Demons aren’t in charge of hell, instead it was created to punish them
    (b) Jesus will come back in an unmistakable fashion, in the clouds, not as some political leader or wise man

Leave a Reply

