Psalm 131 (Paraphrased)

Our pastor had us write a prayer to God by putting Psalm 131 in our own words this morning.  I'm giving you mine here.  It isn't all that true to the psalm and I'm desperately resisting the urge to rewrite it and not show you the spontaneous 5 minute exercise, but…but…I realized on the way home it is the first thing I've ever created just for God.  I hope he considers it as precious as I considered my childrens' first macaroni and glue crafts.

Father, I'm just trying to live my daily life. 

I don't want to be Oprah or Angelina.

I don't need to be Stephen Hawking or CS Lewis. 

I'm here in Denver, everyday,

Doing my job, raising my monkeys.

I am practicing coming to you.

I have found peace at the foot of my bed in prayer

and at Discount Tire, by surprise.

Oh Denver, relax and breathe.

Hope, Denver – always. 

3 Comments

Filed under Pray

3 responses to “Psalm 131 (Paraphrased)

  1. Well I know you arent that fond of it, but I really like the practicality of it. It is psalms in the here and now. I think that might make a good book. Bible translations for the here and now. Keep them coming.

  2. Tracey: If you created this in five minutes, it is very impressive–even if it took hours, really. It expresses simple, but profound devotion to and yearning for God. I’m sure God is pleased with it as well. Thank you.

  3. Thank you for your encouragement, waiting4sunday and Dr. Groothuis.

    Dr. G – I looked up the exact meaning of the word yearning. It’s one of those words you know from context at an early age and have a *feel* for it, but can be surprised by the full meaning. Indeed, this is very much what I find often myself feeling.

    yearn

    1. To have a strong, often melancholy desire.
    2. To feel deep pity, sympathy, or tenderness: yearned over the child’s fate.

    It was the “melancholy” that surprised, but fit.

    -Tracey

Leave a Reply

