Apologetics For Monkeys

And by monkeys, I mean those small humans that call me Mommy.

I sometimes wonder why I am so *driven* to learn so much about my faith. Do I *really* need to struggle through the Kalam argument? Can I give a confirmed relativist (oooh, is there such a thing by definition?) a run for his money? I know I will never understand all the theology, or even a large part of it. So why struggle so hard? Some days I feel like I’m torturing myself on purpose. Oh gee, here’s a tough question I never would have even thought of by myself…let me look into that and get all riled up all over again.

But I can’t tell you how many times I have just learned something and I turn around and one of my kids will ask me the very same question.

My little boy asks: If God makes everything happen in the world, aren’t we just like puppets? If God made the world, who made God?

My girl asks: How do I love God if I can’t see him? I love the stories from the bible, but they don’t seem like those things really happened.

I talk to them seriously. I tell them what I know. They wouldn’t accept pat answers anymore than I didn’t. Thank you to all of you who are helping me, and in turn, helping my monkeys. :)  The struggle goes on…

2 Comments

Filed under Apologetics

2 responses to “Apologetics For Monkeys

  1. Ah, yes, the Kalam argument. I remember learning it. And now forgetting it.

    Apparently, according this page’s treatment, the usual burden of proof has been reversed:

    The proponent of the kalam cosmological argument must show that this [the argument that the universe has always existed] cannot be the case if his argument is to be successful.

    Huh? Is it true the atheist must prove God could not possibly exist? Must every always show they cannot possibly be wrong? Isn’t it typically enough to show that the preponderance of the evidence stands in favor of one’s argument?

    Heh, not when the argument stands in favor of God’s existence, apparently. :-)

    I find stuff like that far more psychologically revealing than philosophically important.

  2. If God made the world, who made God?

    Could you imagine that the world has always existed — that it’s always been here? Then you can imagine God has always been here, too, right?

    The thing is: We know the world wasn’t always here.

    How do I love God if I can’t see him?

    I love truth, but I’ve never seen it.

    “The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going.” (John 3:9)

    Part of the problem here, I suspect, is that God puts his Spirit into your heart. Until you have that experience, we are indeed strangers from God.

    “No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.” (Matt 11:27)

    “If you love me, you will obey what I command. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever — the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you. I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.” (John 14:15-18)

Leave a Reply

